The Brick Award is an international established award and presents outstanding brick architecture from all around the world.

Basaren. Brick Award 22 Category "Sharing public spaces". Wing�rdhs. View from the street
© André Pihl/Wingårdhs

The Award

For two decades now, Wienerberger AG has been hosting the international Brick Award every two years, providing a stage for excellent brick architecture and its architects.

Wienerberger initiated the Brick Award for the first time in 2004 in order to put this natural building material into the spotlight, demonstrating how exciting, exceptional and modern architecture using brick can be.

Although wienerberger is the host of the award, it is an independent award and the use of wienerberger products is no decisive factor for participation. Over the last years, projects have been submitted from all over the world and nominations as well as winners have been chosen using a wide range of manufacturers and brick types in all colours and shapes. In a dialogue with you, architects and architecture fans as well as critics, we want to further strengthen the public focus on the aesthetic and functional aspects of this great building material.

Submission for Brick Award 24 is over.

Brick Award 26 submission will start in December 2024.

Matamoros Public Market. Brick Award 22 Category "Sharing public spaces". C733. inside view
© Rafael Gamo

The Jury and Winners

An international jury of renowned architects selects the winners

Independent architecture critics, experts, architects and developers are invited to submit innovative and creative buildings and other construction works made of clay building materials. The spectrum of applications ranges from building solutions using classic clay blocks, facing bricks and roof tiles to the creative application of clay pavers and ceramic façade panels.

Innovative design and architecture concept, skillful and innovative use of bricks as well as architecture quality in terms of aesthetics, shape and configuration of the project will be jugded by our international jury. Special attention is also directed to sustainability, climate resilience, energy efficiency, affordable living – the adequacy of the project in relation to its intended purpose, building type and cultural context.

Our international jury of renowned architects, who change with every award, selects the winners within the categories including two Grand Prize winners. The award categories can be subject to slight change depending on the year and the development of trends and current topics. The winners of the Brick Award are announced biennially at an award ceremony and presented, along with the 50 nominations in the accompanying Brick Book. Winning projects are endowed with price money and can be found all over the world. 

Submission period for Brick Award 24 is over.

Interested in submitting? Next submission period will start end of 2024.


Tsingpu Yangzhou Retreat. Brick Award 22 Category "Building outside the box". neri & hu design and research office. Hallway view
© Pedro Pegenaute


Categories for the nomination of the Brick Award

  • Feeling at home: single-family houses, semi-detached houses and small housing projects of high architectural quality that provide comfortable,  affordable, healthy, & sustainable living spaces with focus on energy effiecient solutions.

  • Living together: innovative residential solutions taking into account the trends & challenges of urbanisation such as scarcity of space, energy efficiency and climate resilience, social challenges as well as new living concepts
  • Working together: comfortable, aesthetic, energy effiecient and functional commercial buildings, offices and industrial buildings

  • Sharing public spaces: funtional, energy efficent, aesthetic and adequate to its purpose public buildings for education, culture & healthcare, public places and infrastructure projects

  • Building outside the box: innovative concepts with focus on circular building solutions, energy efficiency and ways of using brick, use of new construction technologies, special brickworks, custom-made bricks & new ornamentation

    The award categories can be subject to slight changes depending on the year and the development of trends and current topics.

Architect Jonathan Sergison Jury for Brick Award 2020
Architect Jonathan Sergison
© Bertie Miller



“The projects in the Brick Award show the very versatile ways brick is used as a contemporary form of construction and that brick architecture is widespread everywhere in the world” - Jonathan Sergison, jury member of the Brick Award 20.



The Jury 24

Find out more about the Brick Award 24 Jury

Winners 22

Find out who won the Brick Award 22

Brick Book

Book series as a companion to the Brick Award

Leyton House. Brick Award 22 Category "Feeling at home". McMahon Architecture. View at dining space

If you have questions please contact 

Veronika Schuster-Hofinger
Project Manager Brick Award

+43 1 60 192 10552 

Call us